Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-22 - 11:39 a.m.

Okay, apparently nothing is wrong with me, because I have a JOB! Hooray!

I really hate the job search thing. Endless interviews just, well, suck. But Monday I had an interview where it sounded like they'd already decided to hire me before they'd even met me.

Ah, the power of the resume.

This job seems like it will be just right. It's in the legal field, which is something I've been eager to break into. I'm already a good secretary, but legal experience is always a plus. Okay, so the pay once I get some of this under my belt won't be a bad thing either. I'll be starting answering phones, and we'll move from there. From what the lady who interviewed me said, that move should be fairly swift.

Well, we'll see. Regardless, I'm just glad to be working. This means health insurance coming our way. My take-home pay is going to be awful during the starting phase, but that doesn't matter because if anyone gets sick or injured after we're covered by insurance, we're set. I have been so worried that something horrible would happen during this insurance gap, but so far we've been incredibly fortunate. Sure, the Spousal Unit broke his wrist, but as it was work-related, he was 100% covered by Workers' Comp.

I am so relieved I can't even begin to describe it.


I think things will also work well with this job and the kids. It's standard office hours, which makes daycare arrangements easier, and the daycare I'm using is fairly near the office. Also, since they didn't let me know until today that I was hired (rather than yesterday, which was the original plan), they've given me an extra day to get things in gear. Initially, I was to start tomorrow. Eek! I could and would have done it, barely, but I'm glad that I have more time.


On a totally unrelated note, I've noticed that my entries are now quite dull. I used to have some entertaining stuff on my old journal, but now? Bleah.

Oh well, not like anyone actually reads this anyway... at least judging from the comments or lack thereof (hi, Cynthia, my lone non-related commentator!).

Perhaps, eventually, I'll be more amusing.

Or not.

I think I'll go dye my hair a mousy brown now.



0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!